The Chattanooga-Hamilton County Air Pollution Control Bureau's fiscal year runs from July 1 through June 30.  The Bureau receives funds from the following sources: City of Chattanooga; Hamilton County; Environmental Protection Agency; and permit fees.

The Bureau does not receive any money from civil penalties that are assessed.  All penalties received for air pollution violations are divided between the City of Chattanooga and Hamilton County based on each government's appropriations to the Board.